All posts by Adrian Cunnington

Classic Car Rally 2021

Our 43rd Annual Classic Car Rally, run by KLDMC in aid of NARS, ran on Sunday 4th July 2021, with over 80 entrants of classics spanning 75 years of motoring from 1930 to 2005….

Car 1 takes to the road: Club President Colin Shinkins flags away Terry Cook’s 1930 Austin, driven by Terry’s daughter Lisa Elliott, from the start at Downham Home & Garden.


Car of the Day winner

Car of the Day, voted for by all entrants, was won by Harvey Death’s 1934 Bentley Blower


ACA trophy winner

Winners of the ACA trophy for Car with Popular Appeal (selected by NARS’ representative) was a 1965 Mini Traveller entered by Peter & Spencer Horsburgh, seen here at the Lynford Hall control point


Award winners are listed in full below.

Thanks to everyone who supported the day. The weather did its best to spoil things but well done to everyone for sticking with it and the sun came out again, eventually!

The event was kindly sponsored by Anglia Car Auctions of King’s Lynn with additional support from Ottoway Carpentry of Dersingham, Bennetts Estate Agents of King’s Lynn, Bearts of Stowbridge, Steve Cato Classic Cars & Restoration from Tottenhill and Downham Home & Garden.

The event was again run in aid of the Norfolk Accident Rescue Service (NARS). The amount raised will be announced on these pages in due course.

This year the Covid-secure event started from Downham Home & Garden on the edge of Downham Market.

start venue aerial
Classic cars gather at the event start at Downham Home & Garden


picnicking at Lynford
Forestry England Bull Ride picnic area at Lynford                                            


Lunch was at Lynford Hall Hotel and we secured permission from Forestry England to use the adjacent ‘Bull Ride’ areas for picnics. Our finish was at Ickworth House in Suffolk.

Thanks to all our entrants, venues, marshals and sponsors for your support.

We hope to see you all again in 2022. 


Vintage & PVT (pre-1950)
1930 Austin – T Cook
1934 Bentley   –   H Death WINNER CAR OF THE DAY
Car of the Day
1936 Ford – N Smith
1936 Fraser Nash  –   B Riches WINNER VINTAGE & PVT CLASS
1947 Riley – T Cook
Historic Classic (1950-1971)
1953 Riley   –   A Gidley
1953 Austin   –   N Williams
1955 Austin Healey – T Sprosson
1958 MG – D Stammers
1959 Standard   –   P Foster
1960 Austin Healey – I Wilson
1960 Jaguar   –   G Dale
1960 MG – M Sheridan
1962 Ford   –   W Firth
1962 Triumph   –   D Russell
1964 Triumph   –   B Aistrup

1964 Sunbeam – G Glover
1966 Jaguar – P Clarke
1967 Morris – A Burbridge
1967 Austin Mini – H Hardiment
1968 Triumph   –   D Bowman
1968 Triumph   –   J Corn
1968 Lotus – G Hodgkinson
1968 Triumph   –   D Dawson
1968 Triumph – J Oram
1968 Jaguar   –   A Stephenson
1968 Triumph – D Solomon
1969 MG   –   J Hesketh
1969 Mini   –   D Taylor
1969 Morris – T Peacock
1970 Mini   –   P Horsburgh WINNER ACA/NARS AWARD FOR
1971 Lotus   –   M Mantle
Post-Historic Classic (1972-1986)
1972 Rolls Royce – T Sverdloff
1972 Triumph – M Grange
1972 Porsche – P Hernaman
1972 Lotus – T Wales
1972 MG – R Ford
1973 Triumph   –   M Baker
1973 Volkswagen – N Parsons
1973 MG   –   C Shallice
1974 MG   –   H Haylock
1974 Triumph – C Anderson
1974 MG – B Gilham
1978 Porsche   –   R King
1979 Ford – C Bos
1980 Mini – R Lines
1981 MG   –   N Daubney
1983 BMW* – Adrian Cunnington
Modern Classic (1987-2006)
1988 BMW – J Wilson
1988 Mercedes   –   C Cornish
1988 Porsche   –   N Mann
1990 Jaguar   –   H Churchill
1990 Lancia   –   J Read
1991 Porsche   –   C Sutton
1991 Mazda   –   B Wright
1993 Vauxhall   –   A Beesley
1993 Jaguar   –   D Sutton
1995 Porsche – S Cook
1999/64 AC – G Divey
2000 Alfa Romeo – B Gaskins
2000 Porsche – K Hodgkinson
2000 Porsche – J Setchell
2000 Subaru – C Blyth
2001 Citroen – G Collier
2001 Jaguar – M Forsdike
2002 MG – R Gormley
2002 Mercedes – R Thompson
2003 Mini – A Collier
2003 Mercedes – H Bradley
2003 Mercedes   –   M Vawser
2005 Smart   –   C Griggs
2008 Aston Martin* –   J Skuse
2015 Mercedes GT* – Adam Cunnington
updated 5 July 2021 Photos by Nick Way, Paul Smalley, Adrian Cunnington & Ed Haylock

KLDMC Classic Car Run: 2021


43rd King’s Lynn & DMC Annual Classic Car Rally                              sponsored by Anglia Car Auctions and in aid of NARS

Due to the ongoing Covid-19 situation, KLDMC regrettably had no choice but to CANCEL ALL PLANS FOR THIS EVENT, originally scheduled for July 2020.

We plan to get the event up and running as soon as we are able.

The provisional date is now Sunday 4 July 2021 – please keep the date free – but it is by no means inked-in…

As we are sure you will appreciate, any decision to run an event in summer 2021 is totally conditional on our being able to put the various parts of the rally together in a manner which is Covid secure for all our participants.

Notwithstanding current limitations being put in place to curb the recent upturn in virus cases, we are currently investigating what additional practical measures may be necessary to allow us to run, most importantly,  a safe rally, even if this has to be done in a different way from our usual format. And, of course, we’d want it to be enjoyable for everyone too.

If we can arrive at a satisfactory proposal, we will issue regulations in early April 2021 and for those who have entered the event in recent years, we will contact you. Otherwise, please send your contact details to: 

We thank you for your continued support in these difficult times. 

KLDMC Classic Rally Organising Team

Page last updated on 21 October 2020



From previous years….

42nd King’s Lynn & DMC Annual Classic Car Rally
The 2019 Rally raised approximately £1000 in aid of the Norfolk Accident Rescue Service (NARS). We were very grateful for the continued sponsorship of Anglia Car Auctions plus additional support from Bennett & Co. Estate Agents, Steve Cato Classic Cars & Restoration, Bearts of Stowbridge & Hylton Gott Volvo & Isuzu.

Award winners:
CAR OF THE DAY Graham Dale Jaguar XK 150
Vintage/PVT Terry Sprosson Ford Model A
Historic Classic Duncan Russell Triumph TR4
Post-Historic Classic Tony Wales Lotus Elan
Modern Classic Jody Wilson BMW E30 M3

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
The KLDMC team


Curry Night

Mathew Smalley is organising a curry night on Wednesday 16th October at Voujon in Kings Lynn

There are already enough people coming to mean the meal can go ahead, but the more the merrier! So if anyone wants to come then let him know by email

From looking at their menu their banquet meal is currently priced at £12.95 and we will be looking to meet around 7.30-8pm

September clubnight results

4th September: 12-car rally

1st Paul Smalley / Matthew Smalley 0F 1M Expert
2nd Jack Matthews / David Smalley 0F 4M Expert
3rd June Pollard / Ian Pollard 1F 5M Expert
4th Mark Shefield / Shaun Hannon 11F 20M Expert
5th Mick Beauchamp / Mark Banham 0F 6M Novice
6th Matthew Mantle / Diane Mantle 1F 10M Novice

Organisers: Paul Haylock & Edward Haylock

Marshals: Dave Sooley, Andy Congreve, Steve Tilburn, Harry Tilburn, Jody Wilson, Peter Mears, Kyle Williams, Ed Bennett, Nick Way, Megan Way
Carl Dunnatt, Richard Felton, Guy Farnbank, David Bell, Ian Doble, Dan Wheatley, Dick Lines, Dave Hunt, Robin Lines, Dave Pollard.

Many thanks to everyone who came out to compete or marshal. Sorry there were not as many competitors as we usually have but that’s something beyond our control. I think all the competitors enjoyed the event, the marshals all got to where we wanted them and we had no complaints! So despite the low numbers it was a successful rally. Thank you all very much.

Please be available for David Smalley’s rally next month.

Paul & Edward