Classic Car Rally – Latest: £2500 presented to EAAA

LATEST: KLDMC and ACA present East Anglian Air Ambulance with a cheque for £2500.
At a presentation held at Anglia Car Auctions on 25th October, the team from KLDMC were able to present Chris Donaldson of East Anglian Air Ambulance with a cheque for £2500. This was raised from the proceeds of this year’s rally, the Ivan Cunnington Memorial Run, generously topped up by Lyn & Rob George at ACA, our event sponsors. Thanks to all concerned and, in particular, Dave Bowman who brought his immaculate award-winning Escort Mexico along for the occasion.

Following announcement of the Goodwood Festival of Speed dates, we provisionally expect to run our 41st Annual Classic Car Rally on 8 July 2018. Further details to follow.

40th Annual Classic Car Rally

Our 40th Annual Classic Car Rally, kindly sponsored by Anglia Car Auctions, took place on Sunday 23 July 2017. We are also grateful for additional support from Norfolk Classic & Sports Cars and Hix & Son of Holbeach.

This year’s event was known as the Ivan Cunnington Memorial Run in memory of Ivan who ran the event for 38 years. The event was run in aid of the East Anglian Air Ambulance for whom we raised a significant sum (see above).

As it was the 40th event, we decided to start the Rally from the Tuesday Market Place in King’s Lynn, as we did for the 25th Run back in 2002.

The lunch halt was at the Barnham Broom Hotel and we finished the event this year at a new venue, Creake Abbey. Our thanks to all our venues, including The Globe in King’s Lynn who did a sterling job in providing coffee funded by our principal sponsors, ACA.

40th Annual Classic Car Rally, kindly sponsored by Anglia Car Auctions:
Car of the Day – #6 Ron Loomes (1936 MG PB)
Best Dressed Crew – #8 John & Sarah Penny (1938 Austin Big Seven)
Class Winners:
Vintage & PVT – #1 Martin Jones (1928 Ford Model A)
Historic Classic – #21 Jack Groom (1958 Sunbeam Rapier)
Post-Historic Classic – #72 Dave Bowman (1976 Ford Escort Mexico)
Modern Classic – #96 Brian Gaskins (2000 TVR Griffith 500)

Our thanks to all who supported the event in any way.

We hope to see you all again for our 41st Annual Rally in July 2018 – see the top of the page for news of this event.

Adrian Cunnington, Mark Banham and the event organising team.

Page updated on 17 October 2017